On Invisible Illness

Posted on Updated on

My illness is invisible, You can’t see it,
But I spy it, lurking, and waiting,
It’s in dark corners, hidden in old memories,
And it watches, it is patient, it is rich,
Full of stolen bounty, fat from the treasures it seeks.

My illness is silent, You don’t hear it,
But it deafens me with it’s hollow laughter,
It taunts, it chides, reminds, and sniggers,
It knows not of rest but of chatter and noise,
Of jibes, of screams, and it hisses it’s warnings.

My illness is painful, but You’ll never feel it,
But I taste the blood it steals from me,
I’m powerless as it stabs, as it bites, and
Leaves me, wounded, broken, damaged,
And returns to it’s lair, silently awaiting.

My illness it’s real, but will you ever believe it?
It’s name is known, but quietly uttered,
In walls of shame, and hushed tones.
And it knows your fear, as it wanders through our worlds
Cutting through us one by one, mercilessly.

Dawni Willis

© Copyright  11/12/10 

13 thoughts on “On Invisible Illness

    CreativeCrip said:
    April 17, 2012 at 11:28 am

    Reblogged this on The Creative Crip.

    IRejectFPTP (@Scribbles123) said:
    January 17, 2012 at 11:39 pm

    I like your poems Dawn, you have a great talent. I too know how it feels for everyone to say ‘Come on lad, buck yourself up and get on with it’. I wish I could! My last good day was the day before my mother died, 2002 to be exact. Its been a long decade.

    Julie Gordon (@biglegsjj) said:
    September 7, 2011 at 2:37 pm

    Describes it beautifully Dawn. Thanks for sharing.

    Anna Louise said:
    May 3, 2011 at 8:20 pm

    This poem is the one I’ve shown all of my family, it’s amazing!!!!

    Anna

    Olly said:
    April 20, 2011 at 9:21 am

    Echo the sentiments of others Dawn.

    Simon Heath said:
    April 12, 2011 at 6:18 pm

    Dear Dawn

    Bloody Amazing! Wish I could nominate this for an award!

    Captures the heart of mental illness! Stunning work.

    May I share it please?

    Thank you

    Simon

      Dawn Willis responded:
      April 12, 2011 at 6:32 pm

      Simon!

      Blush – thanks.

      Feel free to share – glad you enjoyed.

      BW

      Dawn Willis

    Bipolar Woman said:
    January 1, 2011 at 7:06 am

    What a wonderful poem. It is really difficult at times to put this illness into words isn’t it. Would you mind if I shared it on my blog?

      dawn said:
      January 2, 2011 at 2:58 pm

      Thank you very much. Please feel free to share x

    Paul Davidson said:
    December 13, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    Absolutely Dawni and what a Showcase it would be sertainly poems are a profound way to express yourself but also a great way to reach out to others long may we both reach out in our own individual way.

    With much care and gratitude.

    Merry x mass Dawn.

    Claire said:
    December 12, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    Tremendously descriptive, powerful poem.

    Dawn Willis responded:
    December 11, 2010 at 5:18 pm

    Thanks Paul, I am grateful for your kind words at times when I decide to ‘expose’ a little more of me on my blog xx

    We should have a collection shouldn’t we, a showcase x

    Paul Davidson said:
    December 11, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    Hello Dawni What a thought provoking poem I love the style of writing Is it really your poem Dawni? as I live with hidden and taboo disability this poem is very meaningful thank you so much for sharing it.

    I wonder Dawni could you rustle up some more poems ask people to post their poems. It’s very rare I see other peoples poems. You can see some of mine via .P.T.S.D. ON FACEBOOK In his Poems page.

    Thanks

Feel free to leave a comment but the blog is no longer continually monitored.

